QuickBooks Guide: Changing QuickBooks to Work the Way You Do

QuickBooksPreferences

Quickbooks can be modified in many ways to suit the needs of your business and your personal style of working.  From the Preferences window, you can define preferences in over a dozen different categories.

For example, you can configure general preferences such as whether or not Quickbooks prompts you before editing or deleting a transaction, or which date Quickbooks uses for new transactions.  Or, you can configure accounting-specific preferences such as how Quickbooks displays accounts and subaccounts.

To view and set preference options, follow the steps below:

  1. Choose the Edit menu and choose Preferences.
  2. In the Preferences window, change any of the general Quickbooks preferences. These preferences determine how Quickbooks behaves.
  3. To display the preferences for another area of Quickbooks, select the appropriate category in the list on the left. For example, to set preferences for reporting functions, select Reports& amp; Graphs.
  4. On the My Preferences tab for the particular feature area, enter the changes and settings you want. These settings affect only your Quickbooks sessions, not those of other users.
  5. Do one of the following:
  6. Click OK to close the Preferences window and save your changes, or
  7. Click another feature area in the scroll box to enter other preferences. Click Yes when prompted to save your changes.
  8. Click OK.

Did You Know?

  • Company Preferences – are global preferences that affect all users of the company file.  Only the Quickbooks Administrator can set up or modify company preferences.
  • My Preferences – are personal preferences that allow you to customize your workflow, such as using the Enter key instead of the Tab key to move between fields.

Like What You Read?

Sign up and never miss a post.

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *